According to LowestQuotes.com’s Insurance Index, average auto insurance premium in Maine is $1,032 per year. This is almost 29% less than the national average of $1,420. And due to intense competition among leading auto insurance companies over the past 6 months, consumers are now able to walk away with amazing discounts on their auto insurance rates that they otherwise would not been able to receive. In just a couple of minutes, we can match you with multiple providers in your local area who offer cheapest auto insurance rates designed to fit any budget. Compare free quotes from national insurer’s like GEICO, Progressive, Allstate, State Farm and Liberty Mutual and see who provides the lowest quotes for you.
Maine has one of the highest minimum requirements for any state in the nation. Not that it is unreasonable for them to do so, since if you are in a major accident it will can easily cost close to $100,000 if there is more than one person in the car you were in a accident with. Or, if you run into anything else for that matter, because your insurance is protecting your from out of pocket expenses in case you hit something or someone. It does not necessarily have to be another vehicle.
Minimum Car insurance Requirements in Maine
Keeping these things in mind it is a fact to be appreciated and not criticized that Maine car insurance requirements are so high. The individual bodily injury coverage is $50,000. $100,000 per accident for all persons involved in the accident is the minimum for this part of the insurance. Property damage is $25,000, which is a decent amount of buffer to have in the event of an accident.
In the state of Maine you must have your car registered, maintain insurance, and have an inspection sticker on your car. If you neglect to have any of these the penalties are very severe. The fine is anywhere from $100 to $500 for a first offense as well as have your driver’s license and registration suspended. You may be able to get your license back but, it may be restricted.
Being caught driving without insurance in Maine is considered a Class E crime which can end you up in jail for 30 days. Can you really afford to be out of work for that long? Certain jurisdictions have different rules, so you may not have to serve time in jail.
Keeping your car insurance in Maine up-to-date is not merely a matter of legalities. It is common sense. If you are in an accident and you do not have insurance to cover the expenses it can bankrupt you. You can be taken to court for the damages. Not only can this cause you huge financial difficulties but it will damage your credit score as well.
How to get cheap car insurance in Maine
With the amount of the minimum required insurance you really do not need to seek higher coverage. You may want to add personal injury protection or what in the insurance game is referred to as “Med Pay”. What this type of coverage does is pays for any medical expenses, up to the set amount you have paid for, that occur because of the accident for you and your passengers in your car. It does not matter who is found at fault in the accident. The plus to this type of coverage is you can seek and receive the medical coverage you need right away, rather than having to wait for an insurance company to give you approval to get taken care of.
Maine not only has great lobster, but they also have great required car insurance coverage that will take care of you and the victims of any collisions that you are involved in. So shop around and compare rates from top companies to get the cheapest car insurance in maine.