No matter where you live in the country you have to have your registered vehicle covered by the state minimum for liability insurance. Some states will allow you to forgo insurance, but this is not an easy out. You will have to either post a bond through a surety company, or put down a cash deposit to show that you can pay for any damages to life, limb, and property you may cause if you have an accident.
Of course, there is always an exception to every rule. New Hampshire is that exception. New Hampshire does not require any registered vehicle to be covered by car insurance. Here’s the stipulation though. If you do have an accident and you do not have car insurance and you are found at fault you will have to post a bond or cash to cover the damages that you caused. That means if you cause $25,000 in damages you will have to come up with that money out of your own pocket.
Perhaps the car insurance option is better even in this very lenient environment. Why? I hear you saying. I am a good driver and I have never had an accident in the 20 years I have been driving. Even more reason to get insurance. With the passage of time, we get lackadaisical in our driving habits. Little by little we start making mistakes, like changing lanes without signaling or without looking over our shoulder before moving over. These small, but very significant driving rule violations open the door to an accident. The more often you drive the more likely you are to have an accident. Do you have an extra $25,000 to shell out if you hit someone? The answer to that question is probably not.
If you do chose to take the wiser road and decide to purchase insurance you will want to know what the minimum requirements are if you do have car insurance in New Hampshire. You will need to purchase a 25/50/25 policy. This means you must have personal injury coverage in the following amounts, $25,000 for one person’s medical or funeral expenses resulting from the accident. $50,000 for everyone’s medical or funeral expenses resulting from the accident. Personal injury insurance to cover damages from the accident has to be at least $25,000. Uninsured/Underinsured motorist insurance has to be the same level as your liability coverage.
This may seem like a lot but consider what will happen if you are in an accident without it. Also, if you are at fault in an accident you can be sued in civil court as well. Even if you are being pursued by some notorious ambulance chasing attorney who never wins a case, you will spend a lot of money just trying to defend yourself. Again, do you believe you really can afford to take that chance with your financial future?
In New Hampshire, the better part of valor would be to get insurance even if it is not required. Accidents happen, and are a natural fact of life. Insurance is your only protection against losing everything you have of worth. Having a clean driving record is the best way to get cheap car insurance in New Hampshire. With the New Hampshire Tort law, insurance companies here become overwhelmed with claims and raise the rates accordingly. A good driver with a clean record will have no problem finding cheap car insurance in New Hampshire. So compare insurance rates and see how much you can save today!