Tired of paying too much for your auto insurance? In just a couple of minutes, we can match you with multiple providers in your local area who offer the cheapest car insurance rates in Virginia designed to fit any budget. Get your fast, free quotes now, and start saving money right away.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Virginia
The minimum requirements for Virginia car insurance are you must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage. This insurance pays for medical expenses arising from the accident. It will also cover any funeral expenses that occur if the accident happens to be that severe. This is for each person in the accident that is in the other car or whatever else it is that your vehicle struck. This can even be a pedestrian or pedestrians.
You will have to have $50,000 to as the maximum for all persons in the accident for these same expenses. This may seem like a lot of money, but it really isn’t. This is the minimum amount of coverage that you have to have. You will definitely want to look into getting a higher insurance policy coverage than this to make sure that you do not have a large out of pocket risk in case you do have the misfortune of having a very bad accident that you are found to be at fault in.
You also have to have $20,000 in property damage coverage to make sure that repairs and replacement expenses are covered. If you have priced cars lately you know that this is not going to go a long ways towards any of those expenses either so you will want to look at getting more coverage in this area as well. The key is to make sure that you reduce your out of pocket liability as much as possible by having the best car insurance policy you can afford.
In Virginia there is a unique option, you can opt to pay an “Uninsured Motor Vehicle” fee of $500 with your registration. This will have to be paid each year that you register your vehicle. In the event that you are in an accident you will have to pay the medical and/or funeral, and property damage expenses out of your own pocket as well. This is a very big risk to take. At any time you can switch back to having insurance coverage when you register your vehicle again.
Not having one of these options does carry a penalty however. You can have your driver’s license restricted or revoked, as well as the registration on your vehicle. You’ll also have to pay a $500 fine, an $85 registration reinstatement fee for your registration and show proof of insurance. You’ll also have to show proof of insurance to the DMV for the next three years after the violation. That’s a lot of grief for not being in compliance.