LowestQuotes.com’s Insurance Index reports a mean car insurance rate of $1,512 per year for Nevada drivers, almost $100 more than the national average of $1,420. However, you could save 45% or more and get the cheapest car insurance in Nevada by comparing quotes online!
Because driving always comes with risks, the state of Nevada requires all drivers to carry a minimum of liability insurance on their vehicles. Your insurance covers your financial responsibility if you cause an accident, and therefore protects you and your assets.The only alternative to buying an auto insurance policy in Nevada is self-insurance―but you must own 11 or more vehicles to qualify for this option.
There are over 112 auto insurance companies doing business in Nevada. If you want to save time and money, you must get free quotes from several leading companies. Finding a Nevada car insurance company that will be forgiving in the areas you are weak, will result in lower premiums for you. Let LowestQuotes.com’s insurance tool finder help you find a policy that best meets your needs.
Nevada Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Nevada has very reasonable minimum requirements. You must have liability coverage, which consists of bodily injury and property damage insurance. Most states have this, what varies is the amount. Nevada requires that you have 15/30/10 coverage. That means you have to have $15,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person injured in an accident, and $30,000 for each person injured in the accident. The property damage coverage has to be at least $10,000 per incident in coverage.
These are very low amounts and you will more than likely want to look at getting a higher coverage policy. Consider also getting PIP or a MedPay rider on your policy. This protects you no matter who is at fault in the accident. The other coverage you will want to have on your policy is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. You never know when you may be in an accident with someone who only has the minimum, or has no car insurance at all.
Nevada does not play when it comes to adhering to these requirements. If you have a car registered in the state of Nevada and you do not have car insurance, they will find out. Nevada has a system called IVP. This stands for Insurance Verification Program. This is a program in which the Nevada DMV is hooked into the insurance companies. Information is sent electronically to them when your policy is cancelled for whatever reason. With this system, if you are simply changing insurances the new insurance company will transmit the information to the DMV as well so there is no need to worry that you may be penalized for canceling one policy and purchasing another, immediately.
If you are caught without insurance while you are driving, the officer will remove the plates from your car immediately because your registration is suspended. You will not be allowed to drive your car any further, and it may be impounded. The fine for re-instating your vehicle is $250, after you show proof of insurance coverage to the DMV. That is if you are pulled over. If you are in an accident without insurance, not only will your registration be cancelled but your driver’s license as well, and a fine up to $1000.
Nevada may be a great place to gamble, but not with your car insurance coverage. Many people do not think of Las Vegas as a “community” or think about that it and its adjoining city Henderson are large commuting cities. People who live here drive to and from work, school, the store, etc… every day. This part of Nevada actually has a population of over 1 million people. Add all the tourists into this equation and that is a lot of cars on the road at any time. The more vehicles on the road the more opportunity to have an accident will present itself. Your only sure protection from the expense of a car accident is having your vehicles insured. Get a FREE Car Insurance Quote Now to See How Much You Could be Saving!