If you are tired of paying too much money and looking to save up to 70% on your auto insurance rates in Oklahoma, enter your zip code above and do a no obligation free auto insurance comparison.
Did you know that average auto insurance in Oklahoma is almost $100 more than the national average of $1,420? Oklahoma car drivers pay an annual premium of $1,512 per year, making it one of the 30 U.S. states that has higher than average auto insurance rates. However, due to intense competition among leading car insurance companies doing business here, many consumers are able to find low cost car insurance in Oklahoma by making the auto insurance companies compete for your business by comparing quotes online.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Rules and Regulations
Oklahoma has car insurance regulations like most other states. Here there are requirements that must be adhered to or you have to deal with the consequences. For one thing you cannot register your vehicle if you do not have the minimum requirements dictated by Oklahoma law. You must have limited liability coverage. Limited because it will only pay up to the amount or limit you have purchased for your policy.
The limits are 25/50/25, which will cover bodily injury and property damage. The bodily injury will cover expenses incurred for medical services and/or funeral costs. The very least that is acceptable is $25,000 worth of coverage for one person and $50,000 for all persons involved in the same accident. This is a starting point; you may want to look into getting a higher coverage to reduce the likelihood of having to pull money out of your own pocket.
Property damage coverage must be at least $25,000 per accident. Again, this is just a place to begin at. The cost to repair or replace property may be significantly higher than this. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure is the old saying. No truer sentiment has ever been spoken when it comes to your car insurance policy.
Oklahoma is has penalties that are not out of any production if you do not maintain this minimum. You risk spending a month in jail. As well, you will have not only your registration suspended, but your driver’s license too. Don’t think that is the end of it, you will also have to pay a fine, up to $250. They do give you a bit of leeway though. You have a month to notify the Department of Public Safety with new insurance information if your old policy has been cancelled. This is more than enough time to get a new policy if you have inadvertently let your insurance lapse.
You may want to consider getting additional insurance riders. A PIP or personal injury protection policy is very economical and well worth the small extra you will pay for it. It will guarantee that you get medical attention without problem. As well, look into uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This protects you in case the person you have an accident with does not have insurance, or enough insurance to pay for all the damages they caused to you or your vehicle.