Cheap Car Insurance in Massachusetts

LowestQuotes.com offers an Online Insurance Marketplace where you can compare the lowest rates and get the most affordable local car insurance available in Massachusetts. By comparing rates from over a dozen leading insurance companies, you not only get the lowest rates, you also get a policy that fit your needs and protects you.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts

cheap car insurance in massachusettsSo, what are Massachusetts car insurance requirements? First, you should know that Massachusetts follows a “No Fault” system as opposed to a “Tort” system which allows you to sue for recompense. In a no fault system you lose some of your rights to sue, because the insurance company will be required to pay, to an amount pre-determined, for all the damages resulting from an accident, no matter who was at fault.

Bodily injury, property damage, uninsured/underinsured liability, and personal injury protection or PIP are required coverages. There are levels you must maintain at the very minimum which are:

Bodily Injury – $20,000/$40,000 is the least you can have. What this means is that you must have $20,000 worth of insurance to cover an individual and $40,000 for the payment of medical and/or funeral expenses for all people in the accident.

Property Damage – You must have at least $5,000 to pay for the property that is damaged in the accident.

Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage – This limit is the same as the bodily injury. This coverage is for the off chance you may end up in an accident with someone who does not have enough insurance or any insurance at all.

Personal Injury Protection – Some insurance companies refer to this as MedPay coverage. This $8,000 minimum will help you get your and your passengers immediate medical payments for the injuries caused during the accident.

Massachusetts takes maintaining car insurance coverage very seriously. Considered a criminal offense, if convicted you could serve up to 1 year in jail, and/or pay a fine of $500 to $5,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 60 days, and your car registration may also be suspended. A fall-out of this happening to you is that at the very least you may find it very difficult to find affordable insurance as the rates will increase, at worst you will not be able to fine insurance at all. You can probably save money in a lot of different ways in Massachusetts, but only one way to get low cost auto insurance in Massachusetts. Compare rates and see how much you can save today!

Comments are closed.